The South Island Mountain Bike Society (SIMBS) is a non-profit, 100% volunteer-powered  organization that promotes mountain biking on South Vancouver Island. In addition to maintaining the trails at Hartland, the most accessible trail network to the city of Victoria, SIMBS advocates for the needs of the broader off-road cycling community in the region.

Our Mission

SIMBS was incorporated in 1998, with the primary purpose being to preserve and increase mountain biking access on Southern Vancouver Island. Since then, SIMBS has established and looked after Hartland (an extensive trail network within Mount Work Regional Park, 20 minutes from downtown Victoria), helped authorize the Harbourview trail network, and been instrumental in advocating for the creation of new sanctioned biking within the Greater Victoria Area.

Run by riders, for riders

SIMBS is made up of hundreds of mountain bikers of all ages, abilities, and motivations, organized by a 100% volunteer board. We share one common motivation: wanting the best possible riding in Victoria, the South Island, and beyond. 

World-class trails, one builder at a time

For decades, SIMBS volunteers have dedicated their time and energy to maintaining and expanding the trails at Hartland. Some volunteers have been coming to our trail days since the very beginning, but every trail day brings new builders of all ages and abilities. Our community trails days are all about that -- the community! -- so everyone is encouraged to attend the trail days. 

The voice of South Island mountain biking

Before a shovel ever hits dirt, hundreds (or thousands!) of hours go into community organization and advocacy. SIMBS coordinates with local, provincial, and national allies -- as well as a variety of stakeholder groups -- to further the interests of anyone who rides bikes in the great outdoors. We take pride in being responsible stewards of the lands we have the privilege to access, and use our experience to tirelessly lobby for new off-road riding throughout the Greater Victoria Area.

Meet The Team

Daniel Smith

President

president@simbs.com

Alon Soraya

Vice President

vice.president@simbs.com

Emily Boyle

Treasurer

treasurer@simbs.com

Adrian Etchell

Secretary

secretary@simbs.com

Andrew Mickelson

Trail Director

trails@simbs.com

Yvonne Mendel

Advocacy Director

advocacy@simbs.com

Yvonne is most passionate about community events and trying to create new riding opportunities on the South Island. She started Topaz Bike Club in 2017 to advocate for a bike park at Topaz Park in Victoria. She has helped a lot of young children learn to ride bikes! On the side, she runs a bike lending library for kids in Hillside-Quadra and has helped built obstacles for community events. Yvonne is the past vice-president of Greater Victoria Cycling Coalition.

Yvonne was born and raised in Smithers, BC. She plays guitar and violin, has two kids and loves surfing when she's not on two wheels.

Liz Cox

Sponsorship Director

sponsorship@simbs.com

Geoff Pendrel

Community Engagement

community@simbs.com

Heather Jenkins

Events Director

events@simbs.com

Dylan Bartel

Director at Large

dals@simbs.com

Eric Ebarb

Director at Large

dals@simbs.com

Contact Us

Email Us

Get a hold of us anytime via email at: directors@simbs.com

To email our Trails Director: trails@simbs.com
You can reach the Advocacy Team at: advocacy@simbs.com

Our Mailing Address

Send snail mail our way using:

South Island Mountain Bike Society
PO Box 8145
Victoria, British Columbia
CANADA
V8W 3R8

Our Constitution

A constitution is a system for governance, often codified as a written document, that establishes the rules and principles of an autonomous political entity. Please feel free to check out the SIMBS Constitution.